Ali Hazelwood · Authors · BOOK REVIEWS

REVIEW: The Love Hypothesis by Ali Hazelwood

THE LOVE HYPOTHESIS

The Love Hypothesis (Love Hypothesis, #1) by Ali Hazelwood

Author: Ali Hazelwood
Publication Date: September 14, 2021
Publisher: Berkley Books
Format: 
paperback
Genre: Romance, Contemporary, New Adult
Pages:
 352

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is synopsis.png

As a third-year Ph.D. candidate, Olive Smith doesn’t believe in lasting romantic relationships–but her best friend does, and that’s what got her into this situation. Convincing Anh that Olive is dating and well on her way to a happily ever after was always going to take more than hand-wavy Jedi mind tricks: Scientists require proof. So, like any self-respecting biologist, Olive panics and kisses the first man she sees.

That man is none other than Adam Carlsen, a young hotshot professor–and well-known ass. Which is why Olive is positively floored when Stanford’s reigning lab tyrant agrees to keep her charade a secret and be her fake boyfriend. But when a big science conference goes haywire, putting Olive’s career on the Bunsen burner, Adam surprises her again with his unyielding support and even more unyielding… six-pack abs.

Suddenly their little experiment feels dangerously close to combustion. And Olive discovers that the only thing more complicated than a hypothesis on love is putting her own heart under the microscope.

This review may contain spoilers, read at your own risk.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is my-thoughts.png

Main Character/s

Olive and Adam. Before reading this book, all I heard about them is how amazing they are and how their relationship is swoon worthy. I heard Adam is huge and sweet and reading it just proves how often it was mentioned that he is huge. I also witness how sweet and caring he is. I just adore Adam and cannot not imagine Adam Driver while reading about this book. I kept picturing Daisy Ridley while reading about Olive and cannot help but adore her. I really love how Olive is such a great friend and would go lengths just to make a friend feel loved.

I just adore these two characters and appreciate how Science can be fun too!

I enjoyed seeing everyone cower around Adam and if given the choice not have him in their committee because of how aggressive he can be. He would immediately ask you questions about you research that makes you feel so down and not worth his time. As much as he is so aggressive, I love how he is so sweet with Olive and even buys her her pumpkin spice latte even he finds it gross. That is just amazing.

As for Olive, she is an amazing STEM woman. I just wish she has more confident in herself and believe that what she has to offer with worth everyone’s time. But I’m glad Adam is there to reassure her and make her see how great she is and how her work can benefit so many people.

Side Character/s

Anh and Matthew. I adore these characters. Without them, I don’t think I’d get so much laughter reading this book. I love how Anh would just initiate those kilig scenes and it just brings warmth to my heart. I also love that Olive has someone who knows the fake-dating arrangement. I also enjoyed how he is so supportive of Olive but warns her about Adam because of how Adam is so firm and negative about his research.

I also adore Holden, Adam’s best friend. We don’t get to see him as often as Olive’s best friend but when he got together with Matthew, we got to see him. I love how supportive he is to Adam and really rooting for Olive and Adam. We got to see and understand Adam’s attitude thanks to him.

Then we have Tom. At first I liked Tom and how he is the first one to notice Olive’s potential. At first, it was like that but when he found out about Olive dating his college friend and contributor, Adam, the tables has turned. He’s true color shown and I just want to hurt him, like no one has ever hurt him. Then we got to hear about how Tom was the reason Adam is like that because he triggered that side of him back in college. I’m just glad he got what he deserved.

Overall Thoughts

The first time I heard about this book, it was a Reylo or Star Wars fan fiction and I am hooked. As a fan of Star Wars and not so fan of Reylo but adore Daisy Ridley, so I decided to give it a shot. I know how hyped up this book was and I had the thought of skipping it but I finally decided to get a copy. I waited months for it to arrive and once I had it, I was not feeling it that time. So this month was the month I am finally reading the most hyped book on BookTok.

I was not disappointed with this book. It has everything I love about books because hello, I am a sucker for fake-dating. I really enjoyed everything about this book and I am glad I read it this month.

I know this book is centered around STEM but for someone who isn’t in the field of STEM, I get every reference because of the huge amount of Medical drama I’ve watched. If you are not in the field and want to read this book, please do so. It doesn’t always tackle about hard words or topics.

rose

FIND ME AT
IG: @wandersbetweenpages | FB: Wanders Between Pages

Leave a comment