BOOK REVIEWS

Review: Last Will and Testament by Dalhia Adler



Huge thanks to NetGalley for granting my request to read this book.

*Trigger Warning: Parental Death*

Main Character/s


Let’s talk about Lizzy, or Elizabeth. At first I was not liking her aura. She seems like a slut who just wants to get laid, drinks so much alcohol and smokes, like lung cancer is not scary. But when that news was shared to her, it seems like that version of Lizzy disappeared. She became someone I didn’t expect her to become. She has stopped partying, drinking alcohol and smoking. Her sexual urges are still there and has now directed it to her sexy TA.

I really appreciate the development Lizzy had as a person and as sister, who now has become a mother of two. I adore how she drops everything just to get custody of her brothers and be the responsible adult her parents know she is. And she delivered.

Connor, the sexy TA, who is only seen by Lizzy as that not until she made him wear clothes that suits him. Anyway, Connor is such a strict and hard person. I thought this story would be a enemies-to-lovers but it turned to be a teacher-student romance, which I am not mad about. I really love how caring he is despite how others have perceived him. I love the fact that he cares so much for Lizzy and would be there to help her out. Learning about his sad past just hurts my heart. I felt sorry for him, that might have harden his emotions. But I’m glad he let it go when he is with Lizzy.

Side Character/s


I really love seeing Max and Tyler interact with their sister and Connor. I had fun reading about how Tyler is so sure he was that they are nailing more than just tutoring her with History.

I also adore Kate and Frankie even if sometimes they gets into my nerve. Sometimes they just think about themselves and forgets about Lizzy. But when Lizzy is at her lowest, they are there to comfort and be with her. I love how they boost up Lizzy’s confidence with her relationship with Connor.

Writing Style


I love how this book is really easy to understand and I might just pick up the rest of this series. I would like to see more from these characters and more from this author.

Overall Thoughts


I really appreciate how this book tackles about parental death and how it would greatly affect a person. Most especially if that person has to take care of themself and her siblings. That has to be so hard, plus she has to balance taking care of her siblings to maintaining her grades to keep her scholarship.

Aside from all those, she gets involved with her TA and the rumors of her being a huge slut made things extra harder to handle. But she came out a better person and i am glad that she had really great support system that stayed with her.

I really appreciate this book.

Highly recommend this book to those who love light academia books. For once this is a really good teacher-student trope.

Leave a comment