BOOK REVIEWS

2023 Bookish Resolutions

Hello bibliophiles! It is a new year and here I am making myself accountable with these 2023 bookish resolutions. I have not successfully achieved all my 2021 bookish resolutions and none of my 2022 bookish resolutions (and failed to share it here), especially the controlled book buying, but I am happy that I was able to read more and take a few books off my physical TBR.

For this year, of course, I won’t be too harsh or too strict. But the book buying though! I have to lessen that because I have no more shelf space, even if I try so hard to find some more. Even if a new book case is in the works before the year ends, I cannot allow myself to keep on buying books.

#1 Read 100 books

My goal for 2022 was 85 books but due to my reading slump and work, I managed to only hit until 65 books. 20 books less than my goal. I know setting it at a hundred would be a stretch but I just want to see if I can achieve it. That has been my hidden goal since 2016.

#2 Read books on my Physical TBR

So as mentioned, I have bought more new books than read my physical books. Then again, some of these books I’ve already read in the previous year and loved it, and only bought a physical copy when it was marked down. But this time around, I need to lessen my book purchases if I want to save more for my future self. I have so many books on my shelf that I have yet to read, so I need to prioritize them because I cannot always feel guilty while looking at my shelf.

#3 Get back to writing Book Reviews

If you have recently visited my site, the last thing I posted was a book review in February. That was months away and since then I have not shared my thoughts on books. As much as most people now enjoy video content, I am more than comfortable in writing than in speaking. So even if my blog won’t get more traction than it used to, I just enjoy writing my thoughts down. So with that being said, I will do my best to post book reviews here.

#4 Book Journal

2021 was the year I was so update with my reading journal, 2022 I fell out of the wagon and just ignored the journal I made. In 2023, I want to do better and keep track of the books read, bought, and just everything I need. Setting up a different journal for my personal and bookish life has been the best decision I made last 2021. So I am doing that again this coming year.

#5 Read Diverse and POC Books

I have to say that I can’t read all diverse books, but I have found new authors that cater to diverse books and POC books. I have also read more LGBT books and they are refreshing, especially those that are well written and well plotted.

So that’s it for now. I really hope I can do it and make a difference with my reading life.

rose

FIND ME AT
IG: @wandersbetweenpages | FB: Wanders Between Pages

Leave a comment