Authors · BOOK REVIEWS · Katharine McGee

The Towering Sky by Katharine McGee | BOOK REVIEW

The Towering Sky

36671156. sy475

Author: Katharine McGee

Published: August 28, 2018

Publisher: Harper Collins

Genre: Young Adult, Science Fiction – Dystopian, Romance


Series or Standalone? Yes, Book 3

The final book in Katharine McGee’s epic New York Times bestselling Thousandth Floor series. When you have everything, you have everything to lose.

Welcome back to New York, 2119. A skyscraper city, fueled by impossible dreams.

LEDA just wants to move on from what happened in Dubai. Until a new investigation forces her to seek help—from the person she’s spent all year trying to forget.

RYLIN is back in her old life, reunited with an old flame. But when she starts seeing Cord again, she finds herself torn: between two worlds, and two very different boys.

CALLIOPE feels trapped, playing a long con that costs more than she bargained for. What happens when all her lies catch up with her?

WATT is still desperately in love with Leda. He’ll do anything to win her back—even dig up secrets that are better left buried.

And now that AVERY is home from England—with a new boyfriend, Max—her life seems more picture-perfect than ever. So why does she feel like she would rather be anything but perfect?

Perfect for fans of Kiera Cass and Anna Godbersen, and with all the drama, romance, and hidden secrets from  The Thousandth Floor  and  The Dazzling Heights , this explosive finale will not disappoint.

I was going to only read this book once I have a physical copy because I want to experience the conclusion vividly, but I found a free audiobook of the book and decided, why not. So, I gave in and read this book. I have to say listening to the audiobook was just like reading it physically. I had to lower the speed from my usual of 1.6x to just 1.4x because I want to see how everything is unfolding.

From where book 2 left off, we are then introduced to another shocking prologue that changes the entire story. Like from Leda being drowned by Mariel at the last book to Mariel actually dying and someone else jumping off the thousandth floor. Just by the prologue, I was hooked. I had to listen to it and do nothing else but just read and imagine the events in my mind. I was intrigued with who killed Mariel and if Leda was responsible with it because of how things ended at the second book and how things ended during the Dubai opening. Then we also have that idea that Leda had a missing time block that made me much more suspicious.

It was nice seeing Avery moved on from Atlas when she went to England. But that was short lived when Atlas showed his face at their father’s mayoral party. And since then everything just went downhill for everyone. But there is one character that I found irrelevant in this book, Calliope has no huge connection with anyone. She is just completely detached from them because she was not responsible with the murders. All she knew about was the secret between Avery and Atlas. Other than that, nothing. But it was nice seeing her life and how she is making a change from a con-filled life to living a normal life. I also love the fact that she finally revealed her real name, a name she hid for 7 years.

Leda’s character went through a lot and that is saying something. From pushing Eris from the thousandth floor, to her blackmailing everyone to keep that secret, to being drowned by Eris’ girlfriend, to finding out that Eris was her sister then to being a suspect to Mariel’s murder. For someone who just got out of rehab for addiction, that is a lot. I pity her and hated her in the first book, in all honesty. But in this particular book, she went out of rehab, again, and had to cut out everyone in her life that can trigger her urges to do it all over again. It was nice seeing her battle that idea but just gave in because she knows, deep down that she was only responsible to her sister’s death, not her sister’s girlfriend. Then she was willing to sacrifice what she had already built for herself and the connections she rekindled, and claim to have killed both girls. She was being selfless compared to how we met her in the first book, as selfish.

Watt’s character has also taken a turn. With the dream of going to MIT to broaden his knowledge with quantum computers and really get share Nadia to the world without really stressing about being caught. But with Nadia’s presence in his entrance interview, he lost the opportunity because he was deemed cheating and asking others to the million-dollar question to get into MIT. Watt’s relationship with Nadia really took a toll because we found out how clean and untraceable the death and Mariel was.

I didn’t expect Rylin to go back to Hero just because she was trying to move on from Cole and Hero was there to be her knight and shining armor. But she seemed happy, so that might be a good thing. That was her only dilemma, as well as writing an essay for NYU, until they were all called to take a statement when Mariel’s case was reopened and deemed that she was murdered. Rylin is not that interesting but I can tell that she is just doing what a mother/father figure would do for their future. She doesn’t want the secret of her dealing drugs to get in the way of being a student at NYU and changing their life, maybe from being at the 32nd floor to the hundred, at least. Her story was great in ways that is different to Leda, Watt, Avery and Calliope.

Who would have thought that Avery Fuller, a New York princess and daughter of the new mayor of New York, was in love with her step brother, Atlas Fuller and was caught kissing in the elevator. Everything was going good for Avery’s life, a hot and charming German boyfriend and an opportunity to study in Oxford. I also thought that her life would no longer include Atlas, because she has already moved on and Atlas is in Dubai. But I was wrong. Her life went upside down. And everyone, including her parents were no longer charmed by her perfect personality. I can tell that that photo hurt her so much that she can no longer take it and actually just want to leave the life of being New York’s princess. But I admire how selfless she had become when her life was already a mess. I guess claiming to have killed Eris and Mariel was the last thing that could ruin her already ruined life. Saving Leda, Watt and Rylin from revealing their own secrets was better than all of them being caught.

I personally enjoyed how things ended in this book. I didn’t see that ending coming. I thought someone else was going to die and history was going to repeat itself. But glad that was over and they can now life a non-toxic life and maybe, just maybe Atlas and Avery could be together for good.

rose

FIND ME AT
IG: @wandersbetweenpages| FB: Wanders Between Pages

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s