Authors · BOOK REVIEWS · Katharine McGee

BOOK REVIEW: The Dazzling Heights by Katharine McGee

The Dazzling Heights

36204044

Author: Katharine McGee

Published: June 5, 2018

Publisher: HarperCollins

Genre: Young Adult, Science Fiction – Dystopian, Romance

Series/Standalone? Series, Book #2

New York, 2118. Manhattan is home to a thousand-story supertower, a breathtaking marvel that touches the sky. But amidst high-tech luxury and futuristic glamour, five teenagers are keeping dangerous secrets…

LEDA is haunted by memories of what happened on the worst night of her life. She’ll do anything to make sure the truth stays hidden—even if it means trusting her enemy.

WATT just wants to put everything behind him…until Leda forces him to start hacking again. Will he do what it takes to be free of her for good?

When RYLIN wins a scholarship to an upper-floor school, her life transforms overnight. But being there means seeing the boy whose heart she broke, and who broke hers in return.

AVERY is tormented by her love for the one person in the world she can never have. She’s desperate to be with him… no matter the cost.

And then there’s CALLIOPE, the mysterious, bohemian beauty who arrives in New York determined to cause a stir. And she knows exactly where to begin.

But unbeknownst to them all, someone is watching their every move, someone with revenge in mind. And in a world of such dazzling heights, just one wrong step can mean a devastating fall.

Perfect for fans of One of Us Is Lying and Big Little Lies, the sumptuous second book in the bestselling Thousandth Floor series has all the drama, romance and hidden secrets that landed the first book in this series at #2 on the New York Times bestseller list.

Please proceed with caution! This review might contain spoilers.

So let’s go down to business and talk about how long it took me to read the second book. The reason for that is because I don’t have the third book on hand yet. But I just gave in and read the book instead because the moment I read the first chapter, I was hooked. I have to say that the anticipation of seeing the things would turn out for everyone that had to hide that secret and how they would deal with the girl that was dating Eris before she passed.

The plot was kinda confusing at first at how Leda made a turn of attitude but I liked that she turned her life upside down. I also love the idea of having a new character that would make the entire thing much more entertaining. Avery’s forbidden love with her adopted brother was much more complicated and fun to see with the new addition to the story. I actually find Calliope amazing because of how well she holds herself and makes everyone believe she was who she believes she was. It just shows how good of a con artist she is. And I can see how she felt about moving from one place to another all the time and just wants to settle down for good and live a con-free life.

The new characters were weaved into the story flawlessly that you wouldn’t question what their role would be in the story. At first, it might seem like it but they played a huge role in the story especially the story between Atlas and Avery. It may seem weird but Calliope was really shaking their story and much more to Avery because of the secret they had to keep from everyone. I have really mixed thoughts about Calliope but then again she was just dragged by her mother to do all those and it’s sad because even she wants out of it, she still can’t.

But with all that is happening in the book, the ending was just another cliffhanger and I just want to read the third book right now but I was not prepared. I was not able to get the third book right away because the budget was low. So that’s an issue. Although I have an audiobook of the third book but I’m still not sure if I want to read it physically or in audio. We’ll see.

PLOT (30pts)                                                    28
CHARACTERS (25pts)                                              23
     Main Characters (15pts)                        15
     Side Characters (10pts)                         8
WORLD BUILDING (20pts)                                          18
WRITING STYLE (15pts)                                           15
IMPACT/FEELS (10pts)                                            10
TOTAL:                                                          94
rose

FIND ME AT
IG: @wandersbetweenpages| FB: Wanders Between Pages

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s