Authors · BOOK REVIEWS · Sandhya Menon

[BOOK REVIEW] When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon (Spoiler Free)

28458598

When Dimple Met Rishi

Sandhya Menon

 

 

goodreads-badge-add-38px

Published: May 30th 2017

Publisher: Simon Pulse

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance

Get a Copy: Book Depository | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

synopsis

Dimple Shah has it all figured out. With graduation behind her, she’s more than ready for a break from her family, from Mamma’s inexplicable obsession with her finding the “Ideal Indian Husband.” Ugh. Dimple knows they must respect her principles on some level, though. If they truly believed she needed a husband right now, they wouldn’t have paid for her to attend a summer program for aspiring web developers…right?

Rishi Patel is a hopeless romantic. So when his parents tell him that his future wife will be attending the same summer program as him—wherein he’ll have to woo her—he’s totally on board. Because as silly as it sounds to most people in his life, Rishi wants to be arranged, believes in the power of tradition, stability, and being a part of something much bigger than himself.

The Shahs and Patels didn’t mean to start turning the wheels on this “suggested arrangement” so early in their children’s lives, but when they noticed them both gravitate toward the same summer program, they figured, Why not?

Dimple and Rishi may think they have each other figured out. But when opposites clash, love works hard to prove itself in the most unexpected ways.

my thoughts

It’s been weeks since I finished this book and I have really thought about my feels for this book.  There are so much I can say but I don’t think I would not say anything that isn’t spoiler, but I will do my best to give as much information I could without spoilers.

I will break down this spoiler free review into parts, so I can at least discuss it all clearly and without spoilers, okay?

Plot. This is my first time reading a book that has an Indian American protagonist.  Truth be told, I never picture myself reading that kind of book before, but here I am intrigued with the premise and cover of this book.  It is already a given that Dimple is into web design and that both Rishi and her went into a summer program.  I really love how this book has traditional Indian beliefs and practices.  And to think that the author, herself, pictures herself in these characters.  That made the reading of this book worth while.

I didn’t find anything problematic about the plot.  I really love it.  I love that they both went to a summer program and that things just went with the flow for Dimple and Rishi, despite the obstacles, that I won’t be sharing! It’s for you to find out!

Characters:  I love Dimple! I love how strong of a woman she is! I love that she really stands for what she wants and believes in and that she knows what she really wants.  It’s not everyday we get to encounter a woman like that.  And as much as she is a fierce character, I love that she is fun and bubbly girl.  Her passion for web design is amazing.  She reminds me of myself, when I am passionate about something, I will find a way to make it happen, little by little.  Rishi, on the other hand, is known for being a hopeless romantic.  The first encounter of Dimple and Rishi made me laugh!  It’s hilarious but at the same time really cute!

The side characters really made the book more entertaining.  The Aberzombies, that is group of popular and rich kids, gave dept and dimension to the book.  In life, we always encounter these kinds of people and as much as we don’t like them, they just show up out of nowhere and try to intimidate you.

Another thing that made me love the book is that even if it has an arrange marriage theme, Rishi and Dimple didn’t immediately abide to their parents’ plans.  And it’s nice to see how things unfold for both Rishi and Dimple.  I like seeing the development of Rishi’s character as he works his way of out of Dimple’s bad side!

I believe there is nothing else to say without any spoilers!

rating

4 hearts


That’s about it you guys! I hope that review gave justice to how amazing the book is!

rose

FOR REVIEW, contact me:

email: rosebooksnreads@gmail.com | IG: @wandersbetweenpages

Review Request Policy

4 thoughts on “[BOOK REVIEW] When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon (Spoiler Free)

Leave a comment