Authors · Becky Albertalli · BOOK REVIEWS

[BOOK REVIEW] Simon Vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albetalli

19547856

Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda

Becky Albetalli

goodreads-badge-add-38px

Published: April 7th 2015

Publisher: Balzer & Bray

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, LGBT, Romance

Get a Copy: Book Depository | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

synopsis

Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.

With some messy dynamics emerging in his once tight-knit group of friends, and his email correspondence with Blue growing more flirtatious every day, Simon’s junior year has suddenly gotten all kinds of complicated. Now, change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s pushed out—without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy he’s never met.

my thoughts

Before anything else, I just want to say that I wished I read this book way before anything else! The hype did not really push me to read it but the sole reason why I finally read it is because of Nick Robinson. Sorry not sorry! I have a huge crush on him and I just thought why not read the book before watching the movie! So you might think that I was imagining Nick as Simon and no one else!

I somehow have an idea what the book is about but not a clear view of the entire premise! So the entire book plot is amazing. I am in love with it! I love how everything fell together. I love it that right now I am speechless. I cannot seem to put mu feels for the book into words and writing. All I could really say is I love it so damn much! But I will still continue this review and give out my thoughts the best way I can, so read on!

Simon as a character is amazing! I love how lovable his character is. I love the email exchanges in between narrations. I enjoyed those parts the most. And you get to see the real and raw Simon as he talks with Blue. I also love the side characters that made the entire amazing beautiful! I love Leah, Abby and Nick! They are such amazing friends and I personally wished I had friends like them. Simon is lucky to have that great of friends. Even if he was scared to admit to them he is gay but they were the most supportive friends when it all got out!

I also love the entirety of this book, especially the exchange of emails. I really enjoyed that part and find it really easy to read because it doesn’t have much comprehension to deal with. I also love how easy the writing in this book too. I am so happy about it because just like what I said, not that much comprehension needed!

I read 60% of the book as we travel from my city to Cebu City and I don’t regret it! I was so happy that the boring boat ride won’t be that boring because this book excite the hell out of me the entire time. I honestly cannot wait to read and buy a copy of Leah on the Off Beat!

I honestly have no idea what to say more on this review but to end it all, I want to say I really do love this book so much!

rating

5 hearts

rose

FOR REVIEW, contact me:

email: rosebooksnreads@gmail.com | IG: @wandersbetweenpages

Review Request Policy

Leave a comment